Find Out From Our Nursing Home Abuse Lawyers and Attorneys in Vermont About Your Case

In the state of Vermont, if a caregiver inflicts harm, abuse, or other forms of misconduct on the person they are caring for, they risk being criminally charged for committing the offense. A caregiver is defined on dictionary.com as a person who cares for another. Therefore, any staff member who provides any sort of care or treatment to an elderly individual who resides in the facility would be referred to as a caregiver and could potentially face a conviction should they engage in the act.

With that being said, nursing home abuse is a current issue that is occurring within some of the facilities located in the state of Vermont and it is our duty to help any victims or family members of victims retain a nursing home abuse attorney who can help fight back against this mistreatment.

Vermont Laws

As per the Vermont Statute § 1378,

(a) “A caregiver who intentionally or recklessly neglects a vulnerable adult shall be imprisoned not more than 18 months or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both.”

(b) Any caregiver who violates subsection (a) of this section, and as a result of such neglect, serious bodily injury occurs to the vulnerable adult, shall be placed in prison for up to 15 years or receive a fine of $10,000 or less, or both. (Added 2005, No. 79, § 2.)

While a caregiver may be the one placing your family member in harm’s way, you may be able to hold the nursing home facility accountable for the abuse or neglect as well. There are many forms of nursing home abuse and no matter how serious or minor the act may be, any type of mistreatment is illegal and unethical.

Your loved one has rights as a resident in a nursing home and you want to be certain that if their rights are violated in any sort of way, even if it verbal abuse and no physical harm has been imposed, the abuse is still recognized.

 

Who Can I Contact to Report Abuse or Neglect?

If you believe a facility in the state of Vermont is not providing care according to the laws and statutes that are currently active, or a particular nurse or staff member is abusing your loved one, you can bring your claims forward and contact the Division of Licensing and Protection. You can reach this department by calling their toll free number, 1-800-564-1612, or their direct phone number, 802-871-3317. They also provide you with the option of using their online abuse reporting form. You can access their site simply by clicking here.

Taking the initial step to report the abuse or neglect is vital and will definitely help support your case in the event you wish to file a nursing home abuse lawsuit. Our Vermont nursing home neglect lawyers can also assist you with this process and ensure you meet all the requirements to properly file suit. Contact a featured lawyer right here on our site today who has the knowledge and experience necessary to get you the justice and compensation your loved one deserves.

Articles

Do you have a mother, grandmother, or other relative currently living a nursing home and ...
Read More
Nursing home abuse lawyers in Chicago can help you if you feel your loved one ...
Read More
An in-home caregiver can be a solution for a family, but they must choose an ...
Read More
(Chicago, IL) – January 6th, 2017: Two former social workers of a 309 bed nursing ...
Read More

See All

Loading...